Friday, 7 December 2012

INEC Deregisters 28 Political Parties, Okotie, Balarabe Musa Affected


The commission announced its decision on Thursday saying it was done in exercise of the powers conferred on it by the amended versions of the 1999 Constitution and the Electoral Act 2010.

The parties affected includes two parties linked to Chris Okotie, a leading Nigerian televangelist and the Pastor of the Household of God Church International Ministries.
In 2003, Mr. Okotie ran for president under the Justice Party; while in 2007 and 2011, he ran under the Fresh Democratic Party. Both were axed by INEC.

Also axed is the political party formed by former Governor of Kaduna State, Balarabe Musa, and chairman of the Conference of Nigeria Political Parties, a coalition of opposition political parties in the country.
Mr. Musa’s Peoples Redemption Party was de-registered by the electoral body.

Most of the parties affected have been moribund since after the April 2011 elections, the commission said.
With the de-registration of the 28, there are now 30 registered parties in Nigeria.

1. African Liberation Party (ALP)
2. Action Party of Nigeria (APN)
3. African Political System (APS)
4. Better Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP)
5. Congress for Democratic Change (CDC)
Below is the full list of the de-registered parties.

6. Community Party of Nigeria (CPN)
7. Democratic Peoples Alliance (DPA)
8. Freedom Party of Nigeria (FPN)
9. Fresh Democratic Party (FDP)
10. Hope Democratic Party (HDP)
11. Justice Party (JP)
12. Liberal Democratic Party of Nigeria (LDPN)
13. Movement for Democracy and Justice (MDJ)
14. Movement for the Restoration and Defence of Democracy (MRDD)
15. Nigeria Advanced Party (NAP)
16. New Democrats (ND)
17. National Majority Democratic Party (NMDP)
18. National Movement of Progressive Party (NMPP)
19. National Reformation Party (NRP)
20. National Solidarity Democratic Party (NSDP)
21. Progressive Action Congress (PAC)
22. Peoples Mandate Party (PMP)
23. Peoples Progressive Party (PPP)
24. Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)
25. People’s Salvation Party (PSP)
26. Republican Party of Nigeria (RPN)
27. United National Party for Development (UNPD)
28. United Nigeria Peoples Party (UNPP)

No comments: